Halo Mythic Maps Review


My names Steven and…well, Im addicted to Halo3. I feel better now, admitting it is the first step, right? I’ve been playing Halo3 since the day it came out and safe to say I was a complete n00b. My Halo2 LAN days had not prepared me well for the harsh world that is Matchmaking. After 523 days, 5 accounts, lots of lag and 42 ranks later I consider myself good enough to handle most situations. Introductions out of the way, lets get down to the good stuff.

I’ve been awaiting these maps for what seems like years now. I sat waiting for the Bungie Updates with hopes of screenshots and information. Friday morning came and I was laying in bed waiting for the sweet thud of a package. When it came I ripped open the packaging and threw Halo wars aside, I’ll get to that next week. I could not get straight into the action as I had to download the maps and that aint no easy feat with my connection. 45 minutes later I was ready to venture off into the unknown.

Ill start with Assembly, its a small 4 vs 4 map that has been compared to Midship from Halo 2 and Wizard from Halo:CE. This map is a marmite map, one game I love it then the next I hate it, or maybe thats just Halo in general?
The map is symetrical apart from a tower on one side that holds the rocket launcher spawn. I find it hard to utilise this as the map is small and open, I end up getting killed before I can adjust and get a shot off. You get 4 rockets to use but I feel that 2 would be more balanced for the map.

h3_mp_assemblyenv01

There is a round room located in the centre of the map and on the second floor you will find the active camo hidden in the grav jump. You can drop through a hole into a room where the Gravity Hammer spawns. The gravity hammer is a great weapon on this map as your always bumping elbows with the other team. Just dont swing it as you pick it up or you will spray yourself across the exploding walls. At the moment this is my least favourite of the maps but Im not saying its bad, its just not as amazing as the rest.

Orbital is quickly becoming one of my favourite Halo3 maps. Its one of the hardest to describe, its a bit like Rats Nest..or something…just look at it.

h3_mp_orbital_env-04

There’s two power weapons on this map, rockets and sniper. The sniper is in the lower section and is quite risky to try and grab off the spawn. Its a great map for sniping as theres long corridors looking into the spawns, Ive already had some great kills with it on this map. The rockets spawn on the walkway that looks down onto the lower U. Great spawn for them as you can pick up some great kills if your opponents are below pushing for snipes, just make sure you dont miss because you only get 2 shots.

Be careful if you want to jump down into the action as theres a big drop over the parapet, it looks an easy jump but its taken my life FAR too many times already. Objective games are great on this map, quite hard but it makes for some close drawn out games. Theres a little passageway at each base that you can use to creep into their spawn. When and if you get the flag there’s mongoose’s (Mongeese?) that are great fun to drive down these narrow corridors and you can get some funny splatters on the stairs as well. There are Ghosts on the map in Forge so perhaps they will feature when the map is in a 5 vs 5 playlist?

Now for Bungies most impressive map, the multi tasking machine that is Sandbox. In its bare matchmaking form its a very basic map but a very good one at that. Great for BR starts and vehicular carnage, I should go pro with my crazy Chopper skills. But Forge is where this map comes into its own. Like foundry you can change everything that you can see but unlike foundry you have no walls to restrict you.
But don’t think you can wander anywhere you want as Bungie have upgraded the Gaurdians to have giant laser towers that will destroy you within seconds of leaving the map.

h3_mp_sandbox_3rdp-05

The possibilities are endless! There are three layers you can edit in Forge; the underground cavern, the sandbox and the sky layer. Im very excited about the last one, think of the Gaurdian-esque wonders that will be coming our way in the near future. Full of hazardous jumps and crazy shortcuts. I would not be surprised if Bungie made a Sandbox playlist containing the cream of the communities work. Bungie have already included 2 different variations, the new griffball arena and an AMAZING (sorry for caps but they had to be used) SWAT map called Tundra.

These are some of the best maps Bungie have released. Definitely worth downloading and even buying the surprisingly good Halo Wars LE for. If you hate the maps then at least you will have a kick ass UNSC coaster!

Now stop reading and go play some God damned Halo!

Written By Steven Wright.

    • Dave 1601
    • March 2nd, 2009

    underground cavern??? where? as i have not noticed it

    • DefMash
    • March 2nd, 2009

    Nice review i would like to try them out first hand but every time i try and download them i get an error code 😦

  1. @Dave, go to the centre of the map and delete the floor panel the grav liff sits on. There you will find the drop inot the crypt.

  1. June 20th, 2009

Leave a Reply

