When in Rome…what do the Romans do?


I was going to do a large introductory post detailing my history in gaming and my past times as a 24 year old but I thought that would be a bit, well…boring. Safe to say I’ve lived the life of any other kid who grew up with an Amstrad in their bedroom. I’m hooked. At the moment all I have to fulfill my gaming needs is my trusty Xbox 360, which I love.

My gaming journey took me through Nintendo, up to the SNES and N64, “next gen” awaited with the PlayStation and PlayStation 2 then a brief stint on the Xbox before I splashed out on a 360. Through all these amazing consoles and the great games I played there was still one thing missing, PC gaming. I have always had a PC in my life but never one good enough to keep up with the ever improving games. I remember playing PGA Tour back in the mid 90’s and playing games on my friends PC’s through the years. Many an hour was spent at my cousins playing Age of Empires and Civilization 3. I even managed to busy myself playing Rome and Battlefield on my mates laptop in college.

I upgraded my PC last week and now it has the power to play some of the games I have missed out on. My first stop is to revisit the great days I had in Rome Total War. In the past I have only played skirmish battles so had no idea how amazing the campaign mode is. It combines what I love about Civilization games with the epic battles of Rome. Safe to say this game will be whittling away my free time over the next few weeks.

Rome

How can you not love that?

Now I need your help, I need to know what other games I should play. I’m planning on picking up Civilization 4 if my PC runs it and maybe the old Battlefield game I used to play in college. I have no idea what else I should get and would love to hear your suggestions.

Heres my PC specs,

2.70 GHz
2.00 GB RAM
ATI Radeon HD 4670 Graphics Card

So, with that in mind I’m off to browse the Internet and see what else I can find to play.

  1. Deus Ex
    Half-Life
    Half-Life 2
    Vampire: The Masquerade – Bloodlines

    Your PC should run all these fine, and they’re all exemplary PC-centric games that you absolutely must play.

  2. I would def give Dawn of War 2 a go mate, and it has achievements in it 🙂

    • Steven Wright
    • July 30th, 2009

    Thanks Lewis. I have got Half Life 2 on the orange box for the 360 but apart from that I have nothing else on that list. Very intriuged by Vampire.

    • Billy Goodgun
    • July 30th, 2009

    Crysis. Nuff said.

    And it ain’t available on 360, although the sequel will be.

    Dawn of War has already been suggestified (well, the sequel). Have a play on Sony Movie Studio, too.

    Company of Heroes.

  3. Just get an account on steam and take advantage of any weekend specials. Keep an eye out for world of goo and any other gems that get reduced. You gotta love steam!

    • Steven Wright
    • July 30th, 2009

    I’ll have to redownload Steam. By the time I install all these games my pc wont have the memory to run them!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

