Wallace and Gromit – The Bogey Man


If you had not heard of Telltale games before then you definitely will have now. They have been flooding the market with a plethora of great adventure games. This is the forth episode in Wallace and Gromit’s Grand Adventures and the first I have played in the series. I thought jumping straight in at the finale might hinder me but I picked up the story and controls with ease.

The game features a tutorial mode which has you running about and clicking away in no time at all. You take control of Wallace thanks to his handy new invention, the Interact-o-Vision. You have to help find Gromit a replacement for his broken chess piece. This gives you an opportunity to learn the controls by using the arrow keys to walk around the room and the mouse to investigate and pick up items. You hold shift and browse your inventory or use the scroll wheel on your mouse which I found a lot more user friendly.

bogeyman_flitts

Once you have the controls sorted you can venture into the game. I was a bit taken aback when I found out I, or more so Wallace, was accidently engaged to his prudish next door neighbour Miss Flit. In the first segment you take control of Gromit who is expertly animated, I took too much pleasure watching him waddle around the living room. You have to use Wallace’s inventions while he talks to the amusing old Mr Crum. I wont spoil anything but you should definitely shoot the porridge gun when he’s in the room.

You head outside to the garden to see Miss Flit speaking to her aptly named Aunt Prudence. Using the Eavesdropper gadget you listen in to their conversation and find out that their hatred of the Prickly Thicket country club. From here you can head into the town centre and speak to a variety of characters including the shop owner Mr Paneer and the pesky Constable Dibbings. You quickly work out that the only way to get Wallace out of his pressing engagement is to get him into the Prickly Thicket country club.

bogeyman_gromit

To get into the club you have to work your way around a variety of tricky situations and puzzles. Some of these are relatively easy, I even found some out by complete accident. But then there are some which had me absolutely stumped. So stuck that I had to break the great gaming code and ask someone for help. I’m not proud of this but if I had not done it I fear I would have ate my mouse. I felt that you could have been steered towards the solutions at these points as I must have tried every possible point and click option but the one I was supposed to do. I like to be challenged but I don’t like to be stuck, some of the items you had to click were buried away in the corners. I did have a lot of fun on some of the challenges, particularly the last one.

In the process of solving one of the puzzles I must have spoke to Mr Paneer about 20 times just hoping he would say something I had missed. The dialogue stood up well to this task as each character had a few different responses to each question. Some voices did grate after a while in particular Duncan McBiscuit the walking talking Scottish stereotype. It was not so much his voice but his irritating laugh. The funniest character in the game was the one with no lines, Gromit. His facial expressions are so well animated and are always timed to perfection. One little shake of the head or eye roll is funnier than any witty line in the game. I actually got quite bored on the Wallace chapters and just wanted to breeze through them until I could waddle around on all fours again.

bogeyman_newshirt

I finished the game in around five hours, a lot of that was spent wandering around confused so if you’re a lot smarter than me you might get through it quicker. I came out the game with a smile on my face but sadly no desire to go back thought it. The campaign is short and linear with no mini games or the likes to draw you back, this inevitably affects the replay value. Fans of Wallace and Gromit will really enjoy this game. Fans of other Telltale games will enjoy this too but don’t expect the hilarity that comes with their other titles.

Hi-Score – Impressive animations, Quirky fun, Simple controls

Lo-Score – Frustrating puzzles, some annoying characters, short with no replay value

Final Score – 6 out of 10

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

